top button

Know Your Visa Type

Schengen visa is a visa issued by any of the Schengen States. Schengen visa allows you to

  • transit through or stay in the territory of the Schengen area for a duration of no more than 90 days in any 180day period ("short-stay visa"),
  • transit through the international transit areas of airports of the Schengen area ("airport transit visa").

Schengen area covers 26 countries ("Schengen States") without internal border controls. These countries are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Citizens of China must have a Schengen visa to travel to the Czech Republic.

Nationals of other countries (resident in China): There is a common list of countries whose citizens must have a visa when entering the Schengen area and those whose citizens are exempt from that requirement.

  • Please note that even if you are a citizen of a country whose citizens are generally visa-free, the visa-free regime applies only to short stays up to 90 days of non-profit nature in the Czech Republic. If your purpose of stay in the Czech Republic is short-term employment or another paid activity, you still need to apply for a Schengen visa.

Holders of residence, re-entry permits and long-term visas in a Schengen State do not need a visa to enter the other Schengen States. Such visits are of maximum 90 days in any 180-day period.

  • A Schengen visa allows you to travel to the following countries unless the territorial validity of the visa is limited, which is shown in the visa sticker:
    Austria Belgium Czech Republic Denmark
    Estonia Finland France Germany
    Greece Hungary Iceland Italy
    Latvia Lithuania Liechtenstein Malta
    Netherlands Norway Poland Portugal
    Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden
    Switzerland Luxembourg    

You must apply for your Schengen visa at the Consulate of the Schengen State that you intend to visit. As a general rule, it must be at the Consulate with territorial competence for the country in which you legally reside.

If you are going to visit several Schengen States, you must apply at the Consulate of that Schengen State which will be your main destination or where you will stay the longest period. If the stay in several Schengen States will be of equal length, the main destination is the Schengen State of the main purpose of the visit (i.e. conference, business meeting, etc.). If it is not possible to determine the main destination, you must apply at the Consulate of the Schengen State whose borders you will cross first when entering the Schengen area.

The visa shows how many times you can enter the Schengen area (one, two or multiple entries). If your visa is only valid for one entry, you have to remember that if you leave the Schengen area, for example to go to the UK, Ireland, Croatia, Russia or Turkey, you cannot re-enter the Schengen area without a new visa. It is therefore important that you state in your visa application how many times you will be travelling in and out of the Schengen area during your visit.

If your visa is valid for more entries (multiple entry), you are allowed to stay in the Schengen area for up to 90 days in any 180-day period. The stay can be divided into as many separate trips as you wish. The period of validity of a multiple entry visa is 5 years maximum.

The procedures for the Schengen visa application to travel to the Czech Republic is subject to the Schengen rules valid for all Schengen States.

Please note: VFS Global staff can provide you with information and application forms for your application, but they are not permitted to advise you regarding the visa category you should choose. Our work is primarily administrative and non-judgmental in nature. The final assessment on your visa, and the duration of visa processing, is entirely at the prerogative of the Embassy/Consulates of the Czech Republic in China.